Skip to content

Regatta Report: 2023 Mainland Interprovincial Champs and Ruataniwha 2K Singles Regatta

After a 3 week weather rollercoaster, the Mackenzie Basin weather reporter might be dreading whatever is around the next corner. Following fires at Pukaki Downs which were fanned by high winds, the region was blanketed by snow for the Mainland Interprovincial Champs (commonly known as IP’s) and R2K – making for a memorable weekend of racing.

Chief Umpire for both regattas Geoff Taggart reports:

Mainland Inter-Provincial Championships Regatta
With over fifteen centimetres of snow on the ground and the novelty of making snow angels, snow men and snow ball fights wearing off, the regatta got underway. It was great to see six teams from North Island Associations as well as our four South Island Provinces at the regatta and masters competing for various trophies. With provinces having to nominate their top boats in each race and coloured bow numbers assigned to these boats it made it easy for competitors and spectators alike to see which boats were vying for the points on offer. Provinces entered: Auckland, Bay of Plenty, Canterbury, East Coast, Marlborough, Otago, Southland, Wellington, Waikato, Whanganui

Canterbury won the Wairoa District Council Shield for the National Provincial Championships from
Otago by a comfortable margin. Otago Masters won the new National Masters Trophy – Taonga Taniwha

Finally, some comments from some North Island rowers: “First time I have been in snow” “I’ve now rowed in snow” “Love the hot meat pies” and “Well done South Island Rowing.” “Thanks go to the friendly officials and volunteers.” My final comment, for those who attended, is in a year or two when people talk about previous regattas you will be able to say “I was there when it snowed in September 2023″.

Images kindly supplied by Sharron Bennett

Concept 2 R2K Singles Regatta
The day dawned fine, cool with the snow melting fast. Entries were the best we have had in several years with over 125 entrants meaning some events required up to three heats. As the finals progressed it was obvious to the spectators and competitors alike who had been putting in the hard yards over winter.

The winners in the main events were Women’s open – Eva Hofmans, Otago University;
Men’s open – Olly Stephens, Nelson; Women’s U19 – Emma Spittle, Oamaru; Men’s U19 Mathew King –
Dunstan Arm. No one club dominated this regatta.